Brillengläser

Strategic Overview: How Rodenstock is shaping a future-proof HR/IT Strategy

Development of an HR/IT transformation roadmap for the time after SAP ERP HCM

Company/ Industry
Rodenstock GmbH / Ophthalmics optics

Service Portfolio
As a global leader in the field of vision care, the Rodenstock Group manufactures high-quality biometric ophthalmic lenses and eye measurement systems for opticians. The company is headquartered in Munich and employs arounf 5,000 people worldwide.

Website

https://www.rodenstock.com/

Career Page

https://www.rodenstock.com/career

SAP HCM customer companies are increasingly moving towards the cloud, as the proven SAP ERP HCM on-premise system will be phased out for customers in the foreseeable future. Rodenstock, the specialist for high-quality spectacle lenses, has recognized that its own HR/IT system landscape therefore needs to be restructured and began to address the resulting questions at an early stage: How must HR management be structured in the future? What options are there for SAP ERP HCM? Do we only use SAP SuccessFactors, the HR cloud solution from SAP, or would it be better to use a hybrid solution? How long will a transformation take and what technical dependencies need to be taken into account?

 

The Rodenstock Group from Munich manufactures high-quality ophthalmic lenses and eye measurement systems for opticians. The focus is on biometric spectacle lenses, in which Rodenstock is the innovation leader: for a biometric spectacle lens from Rodenstock, the unique shape and size of each eye is measured individually and, based on this data, each individual spectacle lens is manufactured precisely using the biometry of the wearer's eye. In this way, Rodenstock produces several million spectacle lenses every year.

Since its foundation over 145 years ago, Rodenstock has been a pioneer of progress in ophthalmic optics. Rodenstock holds over 500 patents worldwide. With the introduction of biometric lenses, Rodenstock has created an innovation that has raised the vision of millions of people with glasses to a new level. This quest for new, better solutions is based on the people who work at Rodenstock. Continuing to attract and retain the best minds for the company remains the key to its future success. With the foreseeable end of maintenance of the on-premise Human Capital Management solution - SAP ERP HCM - major changes in the HR/IT area are imminent. This was the reason for those responsible at Rodenstock to work together with projekt0708 to develop the future goals and paths for a future-proof HR/IT system landscape. The aim was to provide a valid basis for decision-making for the upcoming HR/IT transformation.

5

Years
Planning Horizon
Focus on Germany,
but can be rolled out worldwide
Valid options for
the future

Even a well-functioning system has temporal and functional limits

Rodenstock has been using SAP ERP HCM on-premise as the leading HR management system in Germany for many years. Thanks to its modular structure, it already covers a large number of business processes in the HR area, with numerous in-house developments supplementing the range of functions.

As support for this system is only provided by the software manufacturer until 2027, with extended service until 2030, it was clear to those responsible that a major HR/IT transformation was imminent in the foreseeable future. And that it is better to tackle this change at an early stage. Experience has shown that such a further development of an established and "grown" HR system is often a multi-year project. It is good if those involved agree on the direction of travel and have already completed the preparatory work.

In order to be able to make a decision to transform the existing system landscape, those responsible at Rodenstock decided to bring in external expertise. "When we do something, it has to be future-proof," says Andreas Schmitz, Director IT, Strategy & Digital Transformation at Rodenstock. The choice fell on projekt0708 as an HR/IT service and consulting company that has a wealth of proven expertise in transformation consulting as well as in-depth knowledge of the IT solutions SAP SuccessFactors, SAP ERP HCM, SAP HCM for S/4HANA (H4S4) and SAP Concur.

„Thanks to the detailed offer and the documents from projekt0708, we had a very good idea of the content of the workshops and what results we would get right from the start.”
Andreas Schmitz, Director IT, Strategy & Digital Transformation at Rodenstock

The path leads to the goal: The stages of an HR/IT transformation roadmap

An HR/IT transformation roadmap is a multi-stage, iterative process in which all participants jointly analyze the status quo and develop a target image of the preferred HR/IT architecture and its specific implementation options in line with the corporate and HR strategy.

The premise for the development of the roadmap at Rodenstock was as follows: The roadmap should provide a perspective over the next four to five years. The results initially only apply to the branches and subsidiaries in Germany, but can also be applied globally in the long term. As Rodenstock pursues a company-wide SAP strategy, the system and solution analysis focused on the Walldorf-based company's product portfolio.

The format for developing the HR/IT roadmap was joint workshops with all stakeholders relevant to the project from Rodenstock and projekt0708. The structured process was rounded off with specific interviews with key individuals and know-how providers. In phase 1, all participants defined the guidelines for the project with the so-called "Guiding Principles" and analyzed the status quo as part of an as-is analysis. In phase 2, various solution scenarios were developed and their implementation designed. This was followed by an evaluation of these options.

The purpose of the HR/IT transformation roadmap is to define an optimal alignment of the HR systems in relation to current and future requirements and framework conditions. The results of the roadmap serve as a decision-making basis for the future transformation, which can then be implemented in a clearer and more targeted manner.

Phase 1: Where are we now? Where do we want to go?

„Regardless of the actual roadmap, it is already helpful to take stock. Going through all the processes once and seeing where you stand is a value in itself.”
Sebastian Rieche, Head of Corporate HR at Rodenstock
„The various workshops were really good for thinking comprehensively about potential improvements to our HR processes. Particular attention was paid to ensuring that we remain flexible in the future and do not obstruct any opportunities.”
Sebastian Rieche, Head of Corporate HR at Rodenstock

Important premises and framework conditions form the "guard rails" of the future roadmap in the form of the Guiding Principles. On this basis, the technical requirements and wishes for a future solution are then discussed and collected along the employee lifecycle. It is important to always maintain a comprehensive perspective on the HR organization, processes and technologies as well as their interactions.

Following these procedures leads to the right solutions.

For the area of HR systems and technologies, the workshop focused on the medium-term mapping of all processes using SAP systems in order to ensure the optimal interaction of all components. Instead of the previous on-premise-based approach, there should be a stronger focus on the cloud. A central HR platform should offer an improved user experience on all (mobile) end devices without system interruptions. In addition, the future solution should be more scalable and open to future changes.

The following applies to the budget / TCO area: New resources should be used in a considered manner and with maximum efficiency. Existing resources and investments should continue to be used wherever possible. Proven but future-proof solutions are preferable to more innovative but riskier ones.

With regard to HR processes, a strong focus was placed on the use of self-services by employees. For good user-friendliness and high efficiency, processes should therefore be highly standardized and designed on a global level. This should also ensure the consistency of decisions and their conformity with compliance rules. At the same time, processes should be designed in such a way that they are open to change and innovative approaches.

Proven procedures, such as best practice examples from projekt0708, should be used for process design.

As soon as the guidelines are in place, all processes and the employee lifecycle have been examined and any conflicting goals have been resolved, the question of possible transformation goals can be answered.

This is done by defining target scenarios. It became clear that the only options for Rodenstock in the SAP environment in the medium term were the on-premise-based successor solution SAP ERP HCM for S/4HANA (H4S4) or a hybrid system landscape consisting of H4S4 and selected components of the SAP SuccessFactors HXM suite in the sense of a "core hybrid".

Phase 2: From the development of target scenarios to a factual basis for decision-making

Like the first phase, the second phase also consisted of joint workshops. The aim here was to get to know and work out specific target scenarios for the HR/IT infrastructure and processes using system demos. The specific advantages and disadvantages in relation to the Guiding Principles were compared in an evaluation matrix. In addition, each scenario was given a roadmap for organizational and time-related implementation.

In the specific case, these were different scenarios that included, for example, the exclusive use of H4S4, but also various forms of hybrid approaches in conjunction with SAP SuccessFactors. The use of SAP Build Work Zone and SAP SuccessFactors Work Zone as the future digital workplace for employees at Rodenstock was also examined.

The result and added value for those responsible at Rodenstock from the HR/IT transformation roadmap is not only to know the various possible scenarios and their specific advantages and disadvantages, but also to know how to implement them and what time frame to plan for them.

This provides a fact-based basis for decision-making so that you can act quickly and purposefully at time X. Because even if the HR/IT transformation roadmap has made it clear that the current SAP ERP HCM on-premise can continue to run for a few more years, it is just as clear that a transformation must have taken place by 2030 at the very latest.

„As a result, we have a roadmap that allows us to continue working with the existing systems without the need for major investments. But we can also see how we can build on this and then move forward.”
Andreas Schmitz, Director IT, Strategy & Digital Transformation at Rodenstock
Contact
+49 (0)89. 46 13 23 - 27
Contact us

Brillengläser

Strategischer Durchblick: Wie Rodenstock eine zukunftssichere HR/IT-Strategie gestaltet

Erarbeitung einer HR/IT-Transformation-Roadmap für die Zeit nach SAP ERP HCM

Unternehmen / Branche
Rodenstock GmbH / Augenoptik

Leistungsspektrum
Die Rodenstock GmbH fertigt als Medizintechnikunternehmen hochwertige Brillengläser, vornehmlich für Gleitsichtbrillen, sowie Systeme zur Augenausmessung für Optiker. Das Unternehmen hat seinen Hauptsitz in München und beschäftigt rund 5.000 Mitarbeitende weltweit.

Website

https://www.rodenstock.de/

Karriereseite

https://www.rodenstock.de/karriere

SAP HCM-Anwenderunternehmen bewegen sich immer mehr in Richtung Cloud, denn das bewährte SAP ERP HCM on-premise System wird auf absehbare Zeit für Kunden auslaufen. Bei Rodenstock, dem Spezialisten für hochwertige Brillengläser, hat man erkannt, dass die eigene HR/IT Systemlandschaft darum neu aufgestellt werden muss und frühzeitig damit begonnen, sich mit den Fragen zu beschäftigen, die sich daraus ergeben: Wie muss das Personalmanagement in Zukunft gestalten werden? Welche Optionen zu SAP ERP HCM existieren? Nutzen wir ausschließlich SAP SuccessFactors, die HR-Cloudlösung von SAP, oder doch besser eine hybride Lösung? Wie lange dauert eine Transformation und welche technischen Abhängigkeiten müssen berücksichtigt werden?

Die Rodenstock GmbH aus München fertigt hochwertige Brillengläser und Systeme für Augenoptiker. Der Fokus liegt dabei im Bereich der High-End-Gleitsichtbrillengläsern, in dem Rodenstock Innovationsführer ist: Für ein Gleitsichtbrillenglas von Rodenstock wird das Auge präzise digital vermessen und auf Basis dieser Daten wird jedes einzelne Brillenglas individuell und präzise für die Bedürfnisse seiner Trägerin oder seines Trägers gefertigt. Auf diese Weise fertigt Rodenstock pro Jahr rund vier Millionen Brillengläser.

Seit der Gründung vor über 140 Jahren ist Rodenstock Pionier des Fortschritts in der Augenoptik. Rodenstock hält über 500 Patente weltweit. Und mit der Einführung der biometrischen Brillengläser hat Rodenstock eine Innovation eingeführt, die das Sehen von Millionen von Menschen mit Brille auf ein neues Niveau gehoben hat. Basis dieses Strebens nach neuen, besseren Lösungen sind die Menschen, die bei Rodenstock arbeiten. Weiterhin die besten Köpfe für das Unternehmen zu gewinnen und zu binden, bleibt der Schlüssel zum zukünftigen Erfolg des Unternehmens. Mit dem absehbaren Wartungsende der on-premise basierten Human Capital Management Lösung - SAP ERP HCM - stehen große Veränderungen im HR/IT-Bereich an. Dies war der Anlass für die Verantwortlichen bei Rodenstock gemeinsam mit projekt0708 die zukünftigen Ziele und die Wege für eine zukunftssichere HR/IT-Systemlandschaft zu erarbeiten. Es soll eine valide Entscheidungsgrundlage für die anstehende HR/IT-Transformation vorliegen.

5

Jahre
Planungshorizont
Fokus auf Deutschland,
aber weltweit ausrollbar
Valide Optionen für
die Zukunft

Auch ein gut funktionierendes System hat zeitliche und funktionelle Grenzen

Rodenstock hat seit vielen Jahren SAP ERP HCM on-premise als führendes personalwirtschaftliches System in Deutschland im Einsatz. Durch seinen modularen Aufbau deckt es bereits eine Vielzahl von Geschäftsprozessen im HR-Bereich ab, zahlreiche Eigenentwicklungen ergänzen den Funktionsumfang.

Da der Support für dieses System seitens des Softwareherstellers nur noch bis 2027 gegeben ist, im sog. Extended Service bis 2030, war den Verantwortlichen klar, dass in absehbarer Zukunft eine größere HR/IT Transformation ansteht. Und dass es besser ist, diesen Wandel frühzeitig anzugehen. Denn die Erfahrung hat gezeigt, dass eine derartige Weiterentwicklung eines etabliertes und „gewachsenen“ HR-Systems oft ein mehrjähriges Vorhaben ist. Gut, wenn die Beteiligten sich sowohl über die Marschrichtung einig sind als auch die Vorarbeiten bereits erledigt sind.

Um eine Entscheidung für eine Transformation der bestehenden Systemlandschaft fällen zu können, beschlossen die Verantwortlichen bei Rodenstock sich externe Kompetenz ins Haus zu holen. „Wenn wir etwas machen, dann muss es auch zukunftssicher sein,“ so Andreas Schmitz, Director IT, Strategy & Digital Transformation bei Rodenstock. Die Wahl dabei fiel auf projekt0708 als HR/IT Dienstleistungs- und Beratungsunternehmen, das sowohl reichlich ausgewiesene Expertise für eine Transformationsberatung als auch tiefgreifendes Know-how rund um die IT-Lösungen SAP SuccessFactors, SAP ERP HCM, SAP HCM for S/4HANA (H4S4) sowie SAP Concur besitzt.

„Durch das detaillierte Angebot und die Unterlagen von projekt0708 hatten wir von Anfang an eine sehr gute Vorstellung davon, was wir in den Workshops machen werden und was das Ergebnis sein wird.”
Andreas Schmitz, Director IT, Strategy & Digital Transformation bei Rodenstock

Der Weg führt zum Ziel: Die Stufen einer HR/IT Transformation Roadmap

Eine HR/IT-Transformation Roadmap ist ein mehrstufiger, iterativer Prozess, in dem alle Beteiligten gemeinsam den Status Quo analysieren und im Einklang mit der Unternehmens- bzw. HR-Strategie ein Zielbild der präferierten HR/IT-Architektur sowie deren konkreten Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten erarbeiten.

Als Prämisse für die Entwicklung der Roadmap galt bei Rodenstock  folgendes: Die Roadmap soll eine Perspektive über den Zeitraum der nächsten vier bis fünf Jahre geben. Die Ergebnisse gelten zunächst nur für die Niederlassungen und Töchter in Deutschland, können langfristig aber auch global angewendet werden. Da Rodenstock unternehmensweit eine SAP Strategie verfolgt, konzentrierte sich die System- und Lösungsbetrachtung auf das Produktportfolio der Walldorfer.

Das Format für die Ausarbeitung der HR/IT-Roadmap, waren gemeinsame Workshops mit allen für das Projekt relevanten Stakeholdern von Rodenstock und projekt0708. Punktuelle Interviewtermine mit Schlüsselpersonen und Know-How-Trägern rundeten das strukturierte Verfahren ab. In Phase 1 legten alle Beteiligten mit den sogenannten „Guiding Principles“ die Leitlinien für das Projekt fest und analysierten im Rahmen einer As-Is-Analyse den Status Quo. In Phase 2 wurden verschiedene Lösungsszenarien entwickelt und deren Umsetzung konzipiert. Darauf folgte eine Bewertung dieser Optionen.

Zweck der HR/IT-Transformation Roadmap ist, eine optimale Ausrichtung der HR-Systeme in Bezug auf die aktuellen und zukünftigen Anforderungen und Rahmenbedingungen zu definieren. Die Ergebnisse der Roadmap dienen als Entscheidungsgrundlage für die zukünftige Transformation, die dadurch klarer und zielgerichteter umgesetzt werden kann.

Phase 1: Wo stehen wir? Wo wollen wir hin?

„Ganz unabhängig von der eigentlichen Roadmap ist schon die Bestandsaufnahme hilfreich. Denn dazu kommt man im täglichen Doing nicht. Alle Prozesse einmal durchzugehen und zu sehen, wo man steht, ist schon ein Wert für sich.”
Sebastian Rieche, Head of Corporate HR bei Rodenstock

Wichtige Handlungsprämissen und Rahmenbedingungen bilden in Form der Guiding Principles die „Leitplanken“ der künftigen Roadmap. Auf dieser Basis werden dann entlang des Employee Lifecycles die fachlichen Anforderungen und Wünsche an eine zukünftige Lösung diskutiert und erhoben. Dabei ist es wichtig, immer eine umfassende Perspektive auf die HR-Organisation, Prozesse und Technologien sowie deren Wechselwirkungen zu bewahren.

Folgt man diesen Verfahren, führt das zu den richtigen Lösungen.

Für den Bereich HR-Systeme und Technologien galt: Mittelfristig sollen alle Prozesse mittels SAP-Systeme abgebildet werden, um das optimale Zusammenspiel aller Komponenten zu gewährleisten und die globale Ausrichtung der Systemlandschaft weiter zu stärken. Anstelle des bisherigen on-premises basierten Ansatzes soll ein stärkerer Fokus auf der Cloud liegen. Eine zentrale HR-Plattform soll eine verbesserte User-Experience auf allen (mobilen) Endgeräten ohne Systembrüche bieten. Zusätzlich soll die zukünftige Lösung skalierbarer und offen für zukünftige Veränderungen sein.

Für den Bereich Budget / TCO galt folgendes: Neue Mittel sollen überlegt und mit maximaler Effizienz eingesetzt werden. Bereits vorhandene Ressourcen und Investitionen sollten möglichst weiterverwendet werden. Bewährte, aber zukunftssichere Lösungen sind innovativeren, aber risikoreicheren vorzuziehen.

Bei den HR-Prozessen wurde ein starker Fokus auf die Nutzung von Self-Services durch die Mitarbeitenden gelegt. Für eine gute Benutzerfreundlichkeit und hohe Effizienz sollten Prozesse daher in hohem Maße standardisiert und auf einer globalen Ebene entworfen werden. Damit soll auch die Konsistenz von Entscheidungen und deren Einklang mit den Compliance-Regeln sichergestellt werden. Gleichzeitig sollten Prozesse so gestaltet sein, dass sie offen für Veränderung und innovative Ansätze sind.

Für die Prozessgestaltung sollten bewährte Vorgehensweisen, wie zum Beispiel Best-Practice-Beispiele von projekt0708 hergezogen werden.

Sobald die Leitlinien stehen, alle Prozesse und der Employee Lifecycle durchleuchtet und auftretende Zielkonflikte aufgelöst sind, kann die Frage nach den möglichen Transformationszielen beantwortet werden.

Das geschieht in der Definition von Zielszenarien. Dabei wurde klar, dass es für Rodenstock mittelfristig die on-premise basierte Nachfolgelösung SAP ERP HCM for S/4HANA (H4S4) oder eine hybride Systemlandschaft bestehend aus H4S4 und ausgewählten Komponenten der SAP SuccessFactors HXM-Suite im Sinne eines „Core-Hybrides“ werden wird.

Phase 2: Vom Erarbeiten von Zielszenarien bis hin zu einer fundierten Entscheidungsgrundlage

Wie die erste Phase bestand auch die zweite aus gemeinsamen Workshops. Hier ging es darum, konkrete Zielszenarien für die HR/-IT-Infrastruktur und -Prozesse anhand von Systemdemos kennenzulernen und auszuarbeiten. Die spezifischen Vor- und Nachteile in Bezug auf die Guiding Principles wurden in einer Bewertungsmatrix gegenübergestellt. Ergänzend dazu erhielt jedes Szenario einen Fahrplan für die organisatorische und zeitliche Umsetzung.

Im konkreten Fall waren das unterschiedliche Szenarien, die beispielsweise einen ausschließlichen Einsatz von H4S4, aber auch verschiedene Ausprägungen von hybriden Ansätzen in Verbindung mit SAP SuccessFactors vorsahen. Auch wurde der Einsatz von SAP Build Work Zone respektive SAP SucessFactors Work Zone als künftiger digitaler Arbeitsplatz für die Mitarbeitenden bei Rodenstock geprüft.

Das Ergebnis und der Mehrwert für die Verantwortlichen bei Rodenstock durch die HR/IT-Transformation-Roadmap ist es, nicht nur die verschiedenen möglichen Szenarien und deren spezifischen Vor- und Nachteile zu kennen, sondern auch zu wissen, wie man diese umsetzt und welchen Zeitrahmen man dafür einplanen sollte. 

Dies ergibt eine faktenbasierte Entscheidungsgrundlage, um zum Zeitpunkt X nun schnell und zielgerichtet handeln zu können. Denn auch wenn durch die HR/IT-Transformation-Roadmap klar wurde, dass das aktuelle SAP ERP HCM on-premise noch ein paar Jahre weiterlaufen kann, ist genauso klar, dass bis allerspätestens 2030 eine Transformation stattgefunden haben muss.

„Das Ergebnis der Roadmap ist, dass wir wissen, dass wir mit den Systemen, die wir haben, noch einige Schritte gehen können, ohne dass große Investitionen notwendig sind. Wir können aber auch sehen, wie wir darauf aufbauen können und es danach weitergeht.”
Andreas Schmitz, Director IT, Strategy & Digital Transformation bei Rodenstock
Kontakt
Bewerbung